Category: Frisco RoughRiders

Frisco RoughRiders Star Trek Night

Trekies have no worry, you aren’t being neglected from MiLB promotional nights.  The Frisco RoughRiders are doing a Star Trek Fan Night Saturday June 11.

You can vote either Team Spock or Team Picard here. I grew up in the 90’s so Team Picard is an easy choice for me. Enterprise was my favorite Star Trek Show, but unfortunately that was short-lived.

Anyway, its cool to see that MiLB teams are branching out to do different promotional nights, and while Star Wars Night is more common, as well comic book heroes are becoming pretty popular. But, Star Trek night is less popular, so I think its something cool to see.

The Frisco RoughRiders are the AA Affiliate of the Texas Rangers, playing in the South Division of the Texas League. The RoughRiders are the the most recent incarnates of the Shreveport Captains, whom had  their inaugural year in 1971. In ’71 and ’72 the Captains were affiliated with the California Angels. In ’73 and ’74 they were affiliated with the Milwaukee Brewers, then from ’75-’78 they were affiliated with the Pirates. ’79-2002 saw the longest affiliation for the Captains as they were affiliated with the San Francisco Giants.

In 2002 they were known as the Shreveport Swamp Dragons, before being moved to Frisco becoming known as the Frisco RoughRiders.  The Rough Riders get their name after the Regiment headed by Theodore Roosevelt and Teddy serves as their mascot logo (as seen below)


The RoughRiders have won South Division Titles in 2003, 2004, 2008 and 2012. As well they won the Texas League Title in 2004.

Notable Alumi in RoughRiders History includes Mike Aldrete.

Mike Aldrete

mike aldrete

Mike “Enough” Aldrete (as called by Chris Berman of ESPN was an outfielder during his MLB career collecting a .263 BA, 41 home runs and 271 RBIs over his career spanning ten seasons.

Aldrete’s best season was 1987 when he hit .325 with 51 RBIs, 50 runs, 116 hits and 18 doubles, all career-highs. As well he was a member of the 1996 World Series Champions New York Yankees.