1913 Durham Bulls

Back to the historical jerseys; today’s is the 1913 Durham Bulls, featured in the photo below.


As you can see from the picture, not much as changed from the uniform the Durham Bulls wear today, both the trademark D as well as the jumping Bull can be seen in the picture above. Today, you see the Bull jumping through the D, whereas in the photo you can see the D and Bull are on opposite sides of the uniform.

It’s cool to see that in 103 years, the Bulls haven’t changed their uniform very much. Both today’s logo and the logo then feature their trademark D and the jumping bull.  Everything changes over time, and sometimes it can be good.  But then there are times when you don’t need to change anything. The Durham Bulls Logo is one of the things which doesn’t need changing. While the logo is a variation of what it was 103 years ago, it’s not all that different.

The Durhan Bulls are the AAA affiliate of the Tampa Bay Rays currently playing in the International League. They were founded in 1902 as the Durham Tobacconists, later that year the league which the Tobacconists joined folded. The Tobacconists reformed in 1912 as the Durham Bulls joining the North Carolina State League until the League folded in 1917 when the United States of America joined the Allies in WWI.

After the war, the Bulls joined the Piedmont League on October 31, 1919. In 1932, the Bulls became affiliated with the Philadelphia Phillies. In 1951, the Bulls helped make history when their 5-4 loss to the Danville Leafs featured the first black player in Carolina League history, Percy Miller Jr. It would not be until April 18, 1957, that the Bulls fielded African-American players when third baseman Bub Morton and pitcher Ted Richardson.

In 1967 the Bulls became affiliated with the Mets and were then renamed to the Raleigh-Durham Mets. They would then become an affiliate of the Phillies and the Braves.

1988 saw the start of the Bull Durham Era, the release of the Kevin Costner Movie saw a surge in stadium attendance and interest in the team.

The Bulls have a long, storied history of winning titles; including

Class titles (1) 2009
League titles (13)
  • 1924
  • 1925
  • 1929
  • 1930
  • 1940
  • 1941
  • 1957
  • 1965
  • 1967
  • 2002
  • 2003
  • 2009
  • 2013
Division titles (16)
  • 1980
  • 1982
  • 1984
  • 1989
  • 1998
  • 1999
  • 2000
  • 2002
  • 2003
  • 2007
  • 2008
  • 2009
  • 2010
  • 2011
  • 2013
  • 2014


Notable Alumni Include:

Steve Avery
Rocco Baldelli
Grant Balfour
Joe Beimel
Jim Bibby
Jeff Blauser
Bob Boone
Jorge Cantú
Norm Charlton
Carl Crawford
Steve Cox
Lawrence “Crash” Davis
Elijah Dukes
Julio Franco
Ron Gant
Jonny Gomes
José Guillén
Toby Hall
Jason Hammel
Michel Hernandez
Aubrey Huff
Edwin Jackson
John Jaso
Dan Johnson
Chipper Jones
Andruw Jones
David Justice
Ryan Klesko
Casey Kotchman
Wes Livengood
Mickey Lolich
Javier López
Greg Luzinski
Kevin Millwood
Joe Morgan
Jim Morris
Fernando Perez
Johnny Pesky
Shawn Riggans
Justin Ruggiano
Juan Salas
Jason Schmidt
Kelly Shoppach
Andy Sonnanstine
Rusty Staub
Mitch Talbot
B.J. Upton
Johnny Vander Meer
Dan Wheeler
Randy Winn
Delmon Young



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s